To post comments, please login.


Host:







This Podcast has No Sponsors.
Help the Collective. Sponsor this Podcast on the Support Page.

Warp Drive Active #5
Mon, 6 Aug 2007 01:20:00 GMT [download/play]



The Warp Drive Active podcast returns once again to bring you news and perky commentary on everyone's "favorite" MMO, EVE Online.

Urban and Winterblink start the show by spending an inordinate amount of time discussing their hatred of startrek and trekkies.

Winterblink buys himself a Playstation 3 which he rather likes while Oblivion still continues to consume Urbans life.

BOB and the Redswarm alliance have a big time scrap with nearly 1200 ships destroyed already.

The IAC V Fix + MC + Axe war continues to hot up nicely IAC put up another outpost which leads to but Tyraxx Thorrk looses another shed load of ships.

In the north the Sparta alliance disbands with its territory becoming property of Fallen Souls. We wonder what the other northern alliances will try and grab.

CCP Fendahl posts a dev blog about changes to Nos. The lads plan of hitting SISI to check out some Nute-Dom setups

The same Dev Blog has got the changes to Khanid Ships which causes much Armarr rage. Winterblink learns a new word.

A lot of people, including Urban, like the homework assignment Winterblink set last week, Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman. If you do our homework assignment please do write and tell us.

This week for homework Urban would like you to read The player of games by Iain M Banks, because the Culture universe is so damn cool.

Griefwatch Killboards changes hands as the current owner can no longer run it, we take our hats off to Battle Clinic for stepping up.

The rules for the 4th PVP tournament rules have been published by GM Nova. We worry that we won't be seeing enough expensive factions ships going boom.

Your chance to win a special prize courtesy of the Warp Drive active podcast. You could be the proud owner of a unique Warp Drive Active T Shirt similar to the one being modeled (rather unsuccessfully) by Kieron Check out the podcast for the question and send your answers to podcast(at)winterblink.com or evemail Winterblink

Lead out tune "Ghostbusters" by Attaboy Skip.

Enjoy the show!

Login to post a comment
Previous Episodes
Episode #49 - Duration: 01:53:10 - Released: Fri, 7 Aug 2009 23:48:00 GMT
Episode #48 - Duration: 01:36:24 - Released: Mon, 27 Jul 2009 22:49:00 GMT
Episode #47 - Duration: 02:18:36 - Released: Tue, 14 Jul 2009 00:01:00 GMT
Episode #46 - Duration: 00:28:00 - Released: Mon, 4 May 2009 01:57:00 GMT
Episode #45 - Duration: 02:13:37 - Released: Wed, 25 Feb 2009 06:28:00 GMT
Episode #44 - Duration: 02:15:18 - Released: Fri, 16 Jan 2009 15:23:00 GMT
Episode #43 - Duration: 01:59:05 - Released: Fri, 5 Dec 2008 17:23:00 GMT
Episode #42 - Duration: 01:38:10 - Released: Thu, 2 Oct 2008 15:58:00 GMT
Episode #41 - Duration: - Released: Wed, 17 Sep 2008 16:39:00 GMT
Episode #40 - Duration: 02:20:18 - Released: Fri, 18 Jul 2008 15:17:00 GMT
Episode #39 - Duration: 01:32:15 - Released: Mon, 9 Jun 2008 21:13:00 GMT
Episode #38 - Duration: 02:25:13 - Released: Mon, 2 Jun 2008 15:12:00 GMT
Episode #37 - Duration: 02:52:36 - Released: Sat, 24 May 2008 18:40:00 GMT
Episode #36 - Duration: 02:14:03 - Released: Wed, 14 May 2008 02:30:00 GMT
Episode #35 - Duration: 01:35:38 - Released: Thu, 1 May 2008 00:36:00 GMT
Episode #34 - Duration: 01:27:02 - Released: Thu, 17 Apr 2008 13:47:00 GMT
Episode #33 - Duration: 01:32:37 - Released: Wed, 2 Apr 2008 04:34:00 GMT
Episode #32 - Duration: 01:17:51 - Released: Fri, 21 Mar 2008 05:51:00 GMT
Episode #31 - Duration: 01:37:54 - Released: Mon, 17 Mar 2008 04:38:00 GMT
Episode #30 - Duration: 01:16:53 - Released: Sat, 8 Mar 2008 20:02:00 GMT
Episode #29 - Duration: 01:56:54 - Released: Thu, 28 Feb 2008 15:36:00 GMT
Episode #28 - Duration: 02:11:19 - Released: Mon, 18 Feb 2008 03:50:00 GMT
Episode #27 - Duration: 01:25:51 - Released: Tue, 5 Feb 2008 08:37:00 GMT
Episode #26 - Duration: 01:55:28 - Released: Mon, 21 Jan 2008 02:54:00 GMT
Episode #25 - Duration: 01:24:57 - Released: Fri, 4 Jan 2008 19:40:00 GMT
Episode #24 - Duration: 01:07:27 - Released: Fri, 21 Dec 2007 05:26:00 GMT
Episode #23 - Duration: 01:31:34 - Released: Thu, 13 Dec 2007 18:54:00 GMT
Episode #22 - Duration: 01:33:06 - Released: Wed, 5 Dec 2007 04:48:00 GMT
Episode #21 - Duration: 01:12:48 - Released: Wed, 28 Nov 2007 05:10:00 GMT
Episode #20 - Duration: 01:21:25 - Released: Tue, 20 Nov 2007 06:24:00 GMT
Episode #19 - Duration: 02:00:59 - Released: Wed, 14 Nov 2007 14:38:00 GMT
Episode #18 - Duration: 01:56:45 - Released: Tue, 30 Oct 2007 04:42:00 GMT
Episode #17 - Duration: 01:31:48 - Released: Thu, 25 Oct 2007 23:37:00 GMT
Episode #16 - Duration: 01:09:11 - Released: Tue, 16 Oct 2007 04:32:00 GMT
Episode #15 - Duration: 01:39:21 - Released: Mon, 8 Oct 2007 02:44:00 GMT
Episode #14 - Duration: 01:12:14 - Released: Tue, 25 Sep 2007 05:08:00 GMT
Episode #13 - Duration: 01:28:48 - Released: Mon, 17 Sep 2007 03:29:00 GMT
Episode #12 - Duration: 01:11:40 - Released: Tue, 11 Sep 2007 03:14:00 GMT
Episode #11 - Duration: 01:19:07 - Released: Sun, 9 Sep 2007 00:32:00 GMT
Episode #10 - Duration: 00:58:13 - Released: Tue, 4 Sep 2007 02:58:00 GMT
Episode #9 - Duration: 01:25:55 - Released: Wed, 29 Aug 2007 04:41:00 GMT
Episode #8 - Duration: 01:17:27 - Released: Mon, 27 Aug 2007 05:27:00 GMT
Episode #7 - Duration: 01:04:38 - Released: Mon, 20 Aug 2007 04:10:00 GMT
Episode #6 - Duration: 01:15:09 - Released: Mon, 13 Aug 2007 04:50:00 GMT
Episode #5 - Duration: 00:55:58 - Released: Mon, 6 Aug 2007 01:20:00 GMT
Episode #4 - Duration: 00:32:02 - Released: Tue, 31 Jul 2007 16:39:00 GMT
Episode #3 - Duration: 00:58:28 - Released: Sun, 22 Jul 2007 21:40:00 GMT
Episode #2 - Duration: 00:54:08 - Released: Sun, 15 Jul 2007 19:53:00 GMT
Episode #1 - Duration: 00:38:21 - Released: Sun, 8 Jul 2007 00:44:00 GMT
Episode #0.1 - Duration: 01:08:32 - Released: Tue, 3 Jul 2007 22:23:00 GMT

Episode 5 Discussion Thread

'The Culture!' by Wilhelm2451
Submitted on 2007-08-06 00:06:02 CST
The Culture universe is just awsome. Best SciFi IP that would never make the translation to a game environment.

Since this week's homework is another repeat for me, I do not feel so bad being a couple chapters short of finishing up "Neverwhere."



'The dog ate my homework..honest!' by Floss
Submitted on 2007-08-06 05:44:13 CST
Another great show guys. Keeping me sane on a very boring job offshore in the North Sea. ;-)

Unable to do last weeks homework, but I promise to get the Gaiman book(s) once I get home.

Fortunately I've already done this weeks homework!

It's a cracking read and as Urban said, a good intro to the Culture novels. "Use of Weapons" and "Excession" being s couple of my favourite of Mr.Banks' Sci-Fi novels.

Winterblink should also check out Iain Banks "normal" fiction work, start with "The Wasp Factory" and work your way forward.

No ship guide this week, meh.

Floss.






'Thanks Floss and Wilhelm' by UrbanMongral
Submitted on 2007-08-06 07:43:47 CST
Thanks guys,

The Culture universe is of course awsome. A while back me and a few friends on the Iain Banks forum stated throwing ideas around regarding the possibility of making a Culture MMO. We quickly gave up on the idea after realising that it would be impossible for a game to do it justice. In fact I would said that books are the only medium which can possibly do the cuture justice.

The wasp factory is an execlent book too, but I would hardly call it normal!



'Oh well perhaps I am missing something' by Inde
Submitted on 2007-08-09 14:26:56 CST
What can I say about an "Eve Podcast" that spends the first 15 mins drivelling on about a console game then spends another 10 minutes talking about an book which is unrelated to Eve. Then the presenters happily tell us each week that they have not done anything in the game but regurgitate stuff from forums and other news websites.

This is rapidly becoming a general "podcast" (which is fine) but an "Eve Podcast" hmmmm not sure - come on guys stay on subject a bit more please.



'->' by ktin
Submitted on 2007-08-13 04:25:27 CST
Uber podcasts.
Been looking forward to the new shows