To post comments, please login.


Host:







This Podcast has No Sponsors.
Help the Collective. Sponsor this Podcast on the Support Page.

Warp Drive Active #4
Tue, 31 Jul 2007 16:39:00 GMT [download/play]



The Warp Drive Active podcast returns once again to bring you news and perky commentary on everyone's "favorite" MMO, EVE Online.

Sorry about the Delay, I've been called down to my parents place to help with the cleanup after the Great Burlingham flood and i've only just got their broadband working again.

Winterblink helps blow up a carrier whilst Urban has got himself a Xbox 360 with Oblivion which is taking up way too much of his time.

Tetra accuses us of being "Sponsored by BOB and co..." which is a bit confusing given that most of the Band of Brothers stories we report on tend to be about things going wrong for them (Shrike's Titan, Flatliners Theft).

The patch makes the server go boom which leads to Much geek rage .

The MC have been Hired by Fix to join them in their war against IAC. AXE are also getting in on the action.

Tyraxx Thorrk, the big boss of IAC, looses yet another ultra rare ship.

The first Soverignty level 3 systems are now in place, Cyno jammers rule!

We interview and get interviewed by Ivan Moon from EVE Tribune, well most of the time we just argued like old ladies.

Our friends over at the Shut Up we're Talking podcast finally get the noob guide they asked for. This time we go through the basics of starting off in PVP as a tackler.

For homework this week Blinky wants you too read Neverwhere by Neil Gainham

EVE Fitting Tool is an execlent and everyone should use it!

Lead out tune "Fett's Vette" by MC Chris.

Enjoy the show!

Login to post a comment
Previous Episodes
Episode #49 - Duration: 01:53:10 - Released: Fri, 7 Aug 2009 23:48:00 GMT
Episode #48 - Duration: 01:36:24 - Released: Mon, 27 Jul 2009 22:49:00 GMT
Episode #47 - Duration: 02:18:36 - Released: Tue, 14 Jul 2009 00:01:00 GMT
Episode #46 - Duration: 00:28:00 - Released: Mon, 4 May 2009 01:57:00 GMT
Episode #45 - Duration: 02:13:37 - Released: Wed, 25 Feb 2009 06:28:00 GMT
Episode #44 - Duration: 02:15:18 - Released: Fri, 16 Jan 2009 15:23:00 GMT
Episode #43 - Duration: 01:59:05 - Released: Fri, 5 Dec 2008 17:23:00 GMT
Episode #42 - Duration: 01:38:10 - Released: Thu, 2 Oct 2008 15:58:00 GMT
Episode #41 - Duration: - Released: Wed, 17 Sep 2008 16:39:00 GMT
Episode #40 - Duration: 02:20:18 - Released: Fri, 18 Jul 2008 15:17:00 GMT
Episode #39 - Duration: 01:32:15 - Released: Mon, 9 Jun 2008 21:13:00 GMT
Episode #38 - Duration: 02:25:13 - Released: Mon, 2 Jun 2008 15:12:00 GMT
Episode #37 - Duration: 02:52:36 - Released: Sat, 24 May 2008 18:40:00 GMT
Episode #36 - Duration: 02:14:03 - Released: Wed, 14 May 2008 02:30:00 GMT
Episode #35 - Duration: 01:35:38 - Released: Thu, 1 May 2008 00:36:00 GMT
Episode #34 - Duration: 01:27:02 - Released: Thu, 17 Apr 2008 13:47:00 GMT
Episode #33 - Duration: 01:32:37 - Released: Wed, 2 Apr 2008 04:34:00 GMT
Episode #32 - Duration: 01:17:51 - Released: Fri, 21 Mar 2008 05:51:00 GMT
Episode #31 - Duration: 01:37:54 - Released: Mon, 17 Mar 2008 04:38:00 GMT
Episode #30 - Duration: 01:16:53 - Released: Sat, 8 Mar 2008 20:02:00 GMT
Episode #29 - Duration: 01:56:54 - Released: Thu, 28 Feb 2008 15:36:00 GMT
Episode #28 - Duration: 02:11:19 - Released: Mon, 18 Feb 2008 03:50:00 GMT
Episode #27 - Duration: 01:25:51 - Released: Tue, 5 Feb 2008 08:37:00 GMT
Episode #26 - Duration: 01:55:28 - Released: Mon, 21 Jan 2008 02:54:00 GMT
Episode #25 - Duration: 01:24:57 - Released: Fri, 4 Jan 2008 19:40:00 GMT
Episode #24 - Duration: 01:07:27 - Released: Fri, 21 Dec 2007 05:26:00 GMT
Episode #23 - Duration: 01:31:34 - Released: Thu, 13 Dec 2007 18:54:00 GMT
Episode #22 - Duration: 01:33:06 - Released: Wed, 5 Dec 2007 04:48:00 GMT
Episode #21 - Duration: 01:12:48 - Released: Wed, 28 Nov 2007 05:10:00 GMT
Episode #20 - Duration: 01:21:25 - Released: Tue, 20 Nov 2007 06:24:00 GMT
Episode #19 - Duration: 02:00:59 - Released: Wed, 14 Nov 2007 14:38:00 GMT
Episode #18 - Duration: 01:56:45 - Released: Tue, 30 Oct 2007 04:42:00 GMT
Episode #17 - Duration: 01:31:48 - Released: Thu, 25 Oct 2007 23:37:00 GMT
Episode #16 - Duration: 01:09:11 - Released: Tue, 16 Oct 2007 04:32:00 GMT
Episode #15 - Duration: 01:39:21 - Released: Mon, 8 Oct 2007 02:44:00 GMT
Episode #14 - Duration: 01:12:14 - Released: Tue, 25 Sep 2007 05:08:00 GMT
Episode #13 - Duration: 01:28:48 - Released: Mon, 17 Sep 2007 03:29:00 GMT
Episode #12 - Duration: 01:11:40 - Released: Tue, 11 Sep 2007 03:14:00 GMT
Episode #11 - Duration: 01:19:07 - Released: Sun, 9 Sep 2007 00:32:00 GMT
Episode #10 - Duration: 00:58:13 - Released: Tue, 4 Sep 2007 02:58:00 GMT
Episode #9 - Duration: 01:25:55 - Released: Wed, 29 Aug 2007 04:41:00 GMT
Episode #8 - Duration: 01:17:27 - Released: Mon, 27 Aug 2007 05:27:00 GMT
Episode #7 - Duration: 01:04:38 - Released: Mon, 20 Aug 2007 04:10:00 GMT
Episode #6 - Duration: 01:15:09 - Released: Mon, 13 Aug 2007 04:50:00 GMT
Episode #5 - Duration: 00:55:58 - Released: Mon, 6 Aug 2007 01:20:00 GMT
Episode #4 - Duration: 00:32:02 - Released: Tue, 31 Jul 2007 16:39:00 GMT
Episode #3 - Duration: 00:58:28 - Released: Sun, 22 Jul 2007 21:40:00 GMT
Episode #2 - Duration: 00:54:08 - Released: Sun, 15 Jul 2007 19:53:00 GMT
Episode #1 - Duration: 00:38:21 - Released: Sun, 8 Jul 2007 00:44:00 GMT
Episode #0.1 - Duration: 01:08:32 - Released: Tue, 3 Jul 2007 22:23:00 GMT

Episode 4 Discussion Thread

'oops' by Brent
Submitted on 2007-07-31 13:33:45 CST
Sorry crew, for some reason (currently unknown) the original upload of the show was clipped off about half way through. So, if your copy of the show was mutilated. Download it again. The short version of the file was only up for a couple hours, but you may have scooped a shorter version than was intended.


'Not my fault' by UrbanMongral
Submitted on 2007-07-31 14:34:54 CST
See Blinky, It was Brents fault and not mine!


'Tackler' by Wilhelm2451
Submitted on 2007-07-31 19:48:50 CST
Thanks for the detailed look at the tackler trade!

I find that I have a little bit of training to do to get there, but not much.



'Re: Tackler' by UrbanMongral
Submitted on 2007-08-01 05:48:23 CST
Yeah, the skill requirements and the cost are both pretty low.

Have fun (But make sure you let me escape if you ever see me)



'compensation' by Token
Submitted on 2007-08-01 19:44:17 CST
The time I wasted downloading the show cost me valuable training time.


'tackler' by AKGUTWORM
Submitted on 2007-08-02 01:58:53 CST
Wow talking about tacking sure brings back memories of my first forays into 0.0 with my first corp. thx you guys for the tutorial I think it will help allot of noobs also the book is good one but I still like American gods more.


'Top Banana!' by Floss
Submitted on 2007-08-02 11:06:02 CST
Guys, excellent show. I think that was your best one yet.

Well apart from the interview.....that seemed a little (how to put this diplomatically?) ....
..well I guess it just sounded like hard bloody work tbh. "Blood from a stone" springs to mind.

Good noob starter guide to tackling, are you going to mention heavy tacklers and other PvP ship niches in future guides?

Mr Winterblink has also given me the impetus to go and buy the Neil Gaiman homework book, something I've been meaning to do for a long time. Just need to find if Amazon deliver to oil rigs now :-/

Keep up the good work fellas



'Alright' by RoanShryne
Submitted on 2007-08-02 18:18:19 CST
You mentioned finding a corp that will really help you out. I have been playing for little over a month and the Corp I am in is not that active, I am online about 7 hrs a day and it pains me when i log on and do not see my friends. So, my question for you is, how would i go about finding a good corp? Do you know any that stand out?


'Finding a corp' by Scott
Submitted on 2007-08-02 20:28:30 CST
If you're starting out alone from scratch it can be tough. It's much easier if you have friends that can recommend other corps, or vouch for you to join theirs if its a good fit.

At the very least I'd recommend you troll the Corp Recruiting Channel in-game (I've done this myself, but found Corp quality better in the forums, or via private invites), and you also post a message in the Eve Recruitment forum on the game's website in order to drum up some interest in your character.

Evaluate all the corps that contact you, and always check their corporate info to see how many people are listed as active in the corp. Obviously if they only have 8 people in their corp it's a pretty iffy proposition that you'll be able to log on and have much to do with them. You'll probably want to find one with 50+ in order to have any chance of decent group activity.



'Episode 5' by Inde
Submitted on 2007-08-09 12:05:44 CST
What can I say about an "Eve Podcast" that spends the first 15 mins drivelling on about a console game then spends another 10 minutes talking about an book which is unrelated to Eve. Then the presenters happily tell us each week that they have not done anything in the game but regurgitate stuff from forums and other news websites.

This is rapidly becoming a general "podcast" (which is fine) but an "Eve Podcast" hmmmm not sure - come on guys stay on subject a bit more please.