To post comments, please login.


Host:







This Podcast has No Sponsors.
Help the Collective. Sponsor this Podcast on the Support Page.

Van Hemlock Episode 47
Tue, 14 Apr 2009 01:07:00 GMT [download/play]



This week we return with another batch of news and another recap of what we've been playing, which this week actually has new games!

You can follow us on twitter (@vanhemlock and @jonshute) if you wish to take part in the friday question, leave us a comment over at virginworlds if you want to join in that way, or you can leave a review on iTunes as part of our ever hopeful run at the first page of recommendations.



Login to post a comment
Previous Episodes
Episode #108 - Duration: 01:11:26 - Released: Thu, 24 Jun 2010 19:58:00 GMT
Episode #202010 - Duration: 01:13:45 - Released: Tue, 22 Jun 2010 00:01:00 GMT
Episode #107 - Duration: 01:15:28 - Released: Fri, 18 Jun 2010 12:19:00 GMT
Episode #132010 - Duration: 01:02:20 - Released: Mon, 14 Jun 2010 10:57:00 GMT
Episode #106 - Duration: 01:37:47 - Released: Thu, 10 Jun 2010 09:29:00 GMT
Episode #62010 - Duration: 00:59:55 - Released: Sun, 6 Jun 2010 23:41:00 GMT
Episode #105 - Duration: 01:13:12 - Released: Thu, 3 Jun 2010 08:56:00 GMT
Episode #104 - Duration: 01:03:14 - Released: Fri, 28 May 2010 10:56:00 GMT
Episode #232010 - Duration: 00:56:20 - Released: Tue, 25 May 2010 12:38:00 GMT
Episode #103 - Duration: 01:46:04 - Released: Thu, 20 May 2010 09:15:00 GMT
Episode #162010 - Duration: 00:52:24 - Released: Mon, 17 May 2010 01:22:00 GMT
Episode #102 - Duration: 01:08:36 - Released: Fri, 14 May 2010 09:16:00 GMT
Episode #92010 - Duration: 01:03:50 - Released: Tue, 11 May 2010 01:34:00 GMT
Episode #101 - Duration: 01:27:38 - Released: Fri, 7 May 2010 10:16:00 GMT
Episode #32010 - Duration: 01:04:55 - Released: Tue, 4 May 2010 23:17:00 GMT
Episode #100 - Duration: 00:58:23 - Released: Wed, 28 Apr 2010 09:23:00 GMT
Episode #252010 - Duration: 01:07:16 - Released: Sun, 25 Apr 2010 15:09:00 GMT
Episode #99 - Duration: 01:27:21 - Released: Thu, 22 Apr 2010 09:52:00 GMT
Episode #192010 - Duration: 01:02:31 - Released: Mon, 19 Apr 2010 09:36:00 GMT
Episode #98 - Duration: 01:02:56 - Released: Thu, 15 Apr 2010 08:58:00 GMT
Episode #112010 - Duration: 01:03:20 - Released: Mon, 12 Apr 2010 09:24:00 GMT
Episode #97 - Duration: 01:09:38 - Released: Thu, 8 Apr 2010 09:46:00 GMT
Episode #42010 - Duration: 00:45:28 - Released: Mon, 5 Apr 2010 11:35:00 GMT
Episode #96 - Duration: 01:16:04 - Released: Thu, 1 Apr 2010 10:34:00 GMT
Episode #282010 - Duration: 00:50:51 - Released: Mon, 29 Mar 2010 18:09:00 GMT
Episode #95 - Duration: 01:18:41 - Released: Thu, 25 Mar 2010 10:23:00 GMT
Episode #212010 - Duration: 00:47:55 - Released: Sun, 21 Mar 2010 23:52:00 GMT
Episode #94 - Duration: 01:06:12 - Released: Thu, 18 Mar 2010 01:11:00 GMT
Episode #93 - Duration: 01:37:14 - Released: Mon, 8 Mar 2010 02:22:00 GMT
Episode #92 - Duration: 01:04:56 - Released: Mon, 1 Mar 2010 23:41:00 GMT
Episode #91 - Duration: 01:18:30 - Released: Thu, 25 Feb 2010 10:06:00 GMT
Episode #90 - Duration: 01:12:19 - Released: Thu, 18 Feb 2010 10:57:00 GMT
Episode #142010 - Duration: 01:04:34 - Released: Mon, 15 Feb 2010 00:04:00 GMT
Episode #89 - Duration: 00:06:33 - Released: Sat, 13 Feb 2010 18:49:00 GMT
Episode #72010 - Duration: 01:00:48 - Released: Sun, 7 Feb 2010 20:40:00 GMT
Episode #88 - Duration: 01:33:53 - Released: Thu, 4 Feb 2010 13:48:00 GMT
Episode #312010 - Duration: 01:06:56 - Released: Mon, 1 Feb 2010 02:14:00 GMT
Episode #87 - Duration: 01:20:27 - Released: Thu, 28 Jan 2010 01:18:00 GMT
Episode #242010 - Duration: 00:58:39 - Released: Mon, 25 Jan 2010 00:16:00 GMT
Episode #86 - Duration: 01:10:16 - Released: Thu, 21 Jan 2010 05:00:00 GMT
Episode #172009 - Duration: 01:20:00 - Released: Mon, 18 Jan 2010 01:26:00 GMT
Episode #85 - Duration: 00:51:28 - Released: Thu, 14 Jan 2010 11:32:00 GMT
Episode #102009 - Duration: 01:08:48 - Released: Sun, 10 Jan 2010 23:57:00 GMT
Episode #84 - Duration: 02:01:08 - Released: Sat, 2 Jan 2010 00:46:00 GMT
Episode #83 - Duration: 01:14:42 - Released: Sat, 26 Dec 2009 22:22:00 GMT
Episode #202009 - Duration: 01:01:02 - Released: Thu, 24 Dec 2009 01:19:00 GMT
Episode #82 - Duration: 01:21:36 - Released: Fri, 18 Dec 2009 02:58:00 GMT
Episode #81 - Duration: 01:17:27 - Released: Thu, 10 Dec 2009 02:11:00 GMT
Episode #62009 - Duration: 01:00:24 - Released: Mon, 7 Dec 2009 00:26:00 GMT
Episode #80 - Duration: 01:05:09 - Released: Fri, 4 Dec 2009 10:29:00 GMT
Episode #292009 - Duration: 01:10:03 - Released: Tue, 1 Dec 2009 23:57:00 GMT
Episode #79 - Duration: 01:11:43 - Released: Fri, 27 Nov 2009 10:45:00 GMT
Episode #222009 - Duration: 01:09:51 - Released: Wed, 25 Nov 2009 01:46:00 GMT
Episode #78 - Duration: 01:02:17 - Released: Fri, 20 Nov 2009 10:24:00 GMT
Episode #152009 - Duration: 01:15:53 - Released: Wed, 18 Nov 2009 01:51:00 GMT
Episode #77 - Duration: 01:11:54 - Released: Fri, 13 Nov 2009 11:41:00 GMT
Episode #82009 - Duration: 01:08:08 - Released: Tue, 10 Nov 2009 05:00:00 GMT
Episode #76 - Duration: 00:57:07 - Released: Fri, 6 Nov 2009 10:00:00 GMT
Episode #12009 - Duration: 01:06:12 - Released: Tue, 3 Nov 2009 23:33:00 GMT
Episode #75 - Duration: 01:14:12 - Released: Sat, 31 Oct 2009 15:40:00 GMT
Episode #252009 - Duration: 00:53:03 - Released: Wed, 28 Oct 2009 03:22:00 GMT
Episode #74 - Duration: 01:11:54 - Released: Fri, 23 Oct 2009 01:24:00 GMT
Episode #182009 - Duration: 00:40:00 - Released: Tue, 20 Oct 2009 23:46:00 GMT
Episode #73 - Duration: 01:06:41 - Released: Thu, 15 Oct 2009 23:42:00 GMT
Episode #112009 - Duration: 00:51:16 - Released: Wed, 14 Oct 2009 00:36:00 GMT
Episode #72 - Duration: 01:08:11 - Released: Fri, 9 Oct 2009 09:07:00 GMT
Episode #42009 - Duration: 00:58:32 - Released: Tue, 6 Oct 2009 01:43:00 GMT
Episode #71 - Duration: 00:56:38 - Released: Fri, 2 Oct 2009 08:31:00 GMT
Episode #70.5 - Duration: 00:58:38 - Released: Mon, 28 Sep 2009 01:17:00 GMT
Episode #70.6 - Duration: 01:21:53 - Released: Fri, 25 Sep 2009 00:07:00 GMT
Episode #70 - Duration: 01:06:30 - Released: Tue, 22 Sep 2009 00:37:00 GMT
Episode #69 - Duration: 00:52:57 - Released: Fri, 18 Sep 2009 09:29:00 GMT
Episode #69.5 - Duration: 00:51:14 - Released: Tue, 15 Sep 2009 09:29:00 GMT
Episode #68 - Duration: 01:17:14 - Released: Fri, 11 Sep 2009 08:25:00 GMT
Episode #68 - Duration: 00:39:29 - Released: Mon, 7 Sep 2009 20:19:00 GMT
Episode #67 - Duration: 01:26:15 - Released: Fri, 4 Sep 2009 09:20:00 GMT
Episode #66 - Duration: 01:48:14 - Released: Fri, 28 Aug 2009 09:34:00 GMT
Episode #65 - Duration: 01:32:39 - Released: Fri, 21 Aug 2009 14:10:00 GMT
Episode #64 - Duration: 01:15:35 - Released: Fri, 14 Aug 2009 10:09:00 GMT
Episode #63 - Duration: 01:17:10 - Released: Fri, 7 Aug 2009 16:00:00 GMT
Episode #62 - Duration: 01:40:34 - Released: Thu, 30 Jul 2009 18:48:00 GMT
Episode #61 - Duration: 01:07:37 - Released: Fri, 24 Jul 2009 09:13:00 GMT
Episode #60 - Duration: 01:31:05 - Released: Wed, 15 Jul 2009 16:19:00 GMT
Episode #59 - Duration: 01:23:00 - Released: Wed, 8 Jul 2009 21:27:00 GMT
Episode #58 - Duration: 01:12:25 - Released: Wed, 1 Jul 2009 16:28:00 GMT
Episode #57 - Duration: 01:44:56 - Released: Wed, 24 Jun 2009 00:31:00 GMT
Episode #56 - Duration: 01:22:16 - Released: Wed, 17 Jun 2009 16:28:00 GMT
Episode #55 - Duration: 01:41:12 - Released: Thu, 11 Jun 2009 16:56:00 GMT
Episode #54 - Duration: 01:12:36 - Released: Fri, 5 Jun 2009 09:58:00 GMT
Episode #53 - Duration: 01:13:06 - Released: Thu, 28 May 2009 15:12:00 GMT
Episode #52 - Duration: 01:32:04 - Released: Thu, 21 May 2009 10:02:00 GMT
Episode #51 - Duration: 01:11:05 - Released: Fri, 15 May 2009 13:41:00 GMT
Episode #50 - Duration: 01:04:35 - Released: Fri, 8 May 2009 11:04:00 GMT
Episode #49 - Duration: 01:15:40 - Released: Tue, 28 Apr 2009 17:52:00 GMT
Episode #48 - Duration: 01:07:12 - Released: Wed, 22 Apr 2009 09:14:00 GMT
Episode #47 - Duration: 01:21:32 - Released: Tue, 14 Apr 2009 01:07:00 GMT
Episode #46 - Duration: 01:42:29 - Released: Mon, 6 Apr 2009 10:26:00 GMT
Episode #45 - Duration: 01:21:54 - Released: Wed, 1 Apr 2009 23:06:00 GMT
Episode #44 - Duration: 01:34:26 - Released: Wed, 25 Mar 2009 10:32:00 GMT
Episode #43 - Duration: 01:14:07 - Released: Thu, 19 Mar 2009 11:07:00 GMT
Episode #42 - Duration: - Released: Wed, 11 Mar 2009 01:06:00 GMT
Episode #41 - Duration: - Released: Wed, 4 Mar 2009 10:39:00 GMT
Episode #40 - Duration: - Released: Wed, 25 Feb 2009 20:17:00 GMT
Episode #39 - Duration: - Released: Wed, 18 Feb 2009 10:04:00 GMT
Episode #38 - Duration: - Released: Mon, 9 Feb 2009 02:03:00 GMT
Episode #37 - Duration: - Released: Mon, 2 Feb 2009 09:51:00 GMT
Episode #36 - Duration: - Released: Mon, 26 Jan 2009 02:21:00 GMT
Episode #35 - Duration: - Released: Sun, 18 Jan 2009 14:07:00 GMT
Episode #34 - Duration: - Released: Mon, 5 Jan 2009 02:58:00 GMT
Episode #33 - Duration: - Released: Wed, 31 Dec 2008 02:09:00 GMT
Episode #32 - Duration: - Released: Tue, 23 Dec 2008 23:38:00 GMT
Episode #31 - Duration: - Released: Mon, 15 Dec 2008 23:58:00 GMT
Episode #30 - Duration: - Released: Wed, 10 Dec 2008 02:46:00 GMT
Episode #29 - Duration: - Released: Mon, 1 Dec 2008 23:02:00 GMT
Episode #28 - Duration: - Released: Tue, 25 Nov 2008 10:22:00 GMT
Episode #27 - Duration: - Released: Mon, 17 Nov 2008 02:48:00 GMT
Episode #26 - Duration: - Released: Tue, 11 Nov 2008 01:56:00 GMT
Episode #25 - Duration: - Released: Tue, 4 Nov 2008 01:12:00 GMT
Episode #24 - Duration: - Released: Tue, 28 Oct 2008 00:50:00 GMT
Episode #23 - Duration: - Released: Tue, 21 Oct 2008 23:40:00 GMT
Episode #22 - Duration: - Released: Wed, 15 Oct 2008 00:02:00 GMT
Episode #21 - Duration: - Released: Wed, 8 Oct 2008 00:57:00 GMT
Episode #20 - Duration: - Released: Mon, 29 Sep 2008 09:27:00 GMT
Episode #19 - Duration: - Released: Sun, 21 Sep 2008 23:52:00 GMT
Episode #18 - Duration: - Released: Tue, 16 Sep 2008 08:47:00 GMT
Episode #17 - Duration: - Released: Mon, 8 Sep 2008 22:56:00 GMT
Episode #16 - Duration: - Released: Tue, 2 Sep 2008 00:08:00 GMT
Episode #15 - Duration: - Released: Tue, 26 Aug 2008 01:14:00 GMT
Episode #14 - Duration: - Released: Tue, 19 Aug 2008 08:50:00 GMT
Episode #13 - Duration: - Released: Wed, 13 Aug 2008 00:48:00 GMT
Episode #12 - Duration: - Released: Thu, 7 Aug 2008 00:00:00 GMT
Episode #11 - Duration: - Released: Mon, 28 Jul 2008 05:34:00 GMT
Episode #10 - Duration: - Released: Mon, 7 Jul 2008 10:55:00 GMT
Episode #9 - Duration: - Released: Sun, 22 Jun 2008 21:46:00 GMT
Episode #8 - Duration: - Released: Tue, 10 Jun 2008 09:45:00 GMT
Episode #7 - Duration: - Released: Sun, 25 May 2008 16:36:00 GMT
Episode #6 - Duration: - Released: Mon, 12 May 2008 01:33:00 GMT
Episode #5 - Duration: - Released: Sun, 27 Apr 2008 21:16:00 GMT
Episode #4 - Duration: - Released: Mon, 14 Apr 2008 09:47:00 GMT
Episode #3 - Duration: - Released: Mon, 31 Mar 2008 12:02:00 GMT
Episode #2 - Duration: - Released: Sun, 16 Mar 2008 23:11:00 GMT
Episode #1 - Duration: - Released: Mon, 3 Mar 2008 23:43:00 GMT

Episode 47 Discussion Thread

'Assorted' by Akely
Submitted on 2009-04-14 20:23:59 CST
Great news comments. And thanks for digging them up for us.

Guild Wars:
The tinkering with the characters sounds intriguing, and fun. The mission editor sounds like a good idea and a nice tool. But with the number of missions now available the amount of them sounds like a problem. A rating of 1 to 100 would be more helpful, perhaps. And the chance of a genius creator being discovered that much harder. I hope I'm wrong.

LOTRO:
This games sounds like it does not take itself very seriously at times. Fantastic!

Learned:
Write down on a whiteboard BEHIND you??? How do you do that? /Boggle





'Mission architect' by Sente
Submitted on 2009-04-15 16:41:01 CST
The rating system in City of Heroes/Villains is not really the problem, the lack of good categorisation and more intelligent searches are.

Those who are looking for a good storyline and those who are looking for fast xp may be looking for entirely different missions. Unfortunately I do not think that adding some checkboxes with various categories will help, if they were to do that. many mission creators would probably just fill in all categories in that case, in the hope that more people will play their arc.